Energy Community

The Comuna Energética program is a management and accreditation tool for the municipalities of Chile, whose main objective is to design plans and implement actions oriented toward energy planning in municipalities.

Among other things, it seeks to contribute to Chile’s energy development model, emphasizing community-based projects, exploiting the potential for energy efficiency and renewable energy in each municipality, and raising public awareness of general energy-related issues and responsible, participatory consumption behavior.

Comuna Energética is comprised of two phases. The first consists of the creation of a Local Energy Strategy (LES) with which the municipalities define an energy vision by actively involving the community. The second one is the implementation of the LES and accreditation as an Energy Community.

The project, adapted from the Swiss tool “Energiestadt”, is a cooperative effort of multiple actors: Municipalities, Ministry of Energy, Ministry of Environment, Ministry of Housing and Urban Development, consultants and private companies. It is coordinated by the Ministry of Energy and executed by the municipalities of Chile.

Municipal energy development began three years ago in Chile. 23 districts have joined the program since its launch. In 2015, eight municipalities joined: Antofagasta, Caldera, Monte Patria, Peñalolén, Coyhaique, Vitacura, Providencia and Temuco. In 2016, an additional 15 more were added to the program: Los Andes, Villa Alemana, Calera de Tango, Colina, Carahue, Saavedra, Nueva Imperial, Santiago, Independencia, Recoleta, El Bosque, La Pintana, Diego de Almagro, Chañaral and Lebu.

During the first half of this year, 12 new districts joined the program in the second version of the LES development contest. It is expected that by the end of 2017, some 35 communes in Chile will be taking concrete steps in terms of local energy development.

For more information, visit the project website: